Upcoming Trips

Interested in going on a club trip? You don’t have to be a member. Contact the trip leader asap.

Sun 31st October Waitahinga Trails Easy/Medium
Stephen Legg 027 647 0095

Tramping which prioritises looking and listening for birds in a native Reserve in the Whanganui water catchment. Departing Milverton St at 0730.
 
Sat 6th November - Sun 7th November Taranaki Gardens and Birds Easy
Janet Wilson 329 4722


 
Sat 13th November - Sun 14th November Pohangina River Medium/Fit
Janet Wilson 329 4722


 
Sun 14th November Wharite Easy
Warren Wheeler 356 1998

Feel like a nice walk up from Coppermine Creek track to see the Wharite transmitter tower? Sure, it starts off steep but soon eases off and the views just keep on getting better. Enjoy rocky outcrops and slippery, muddy sections along the ridge through the leatherwood to the Wharite trig for lunch. Return the same way. Depart 8.00am from Milverton Park.
 
Sat 20th November - Sun 21st November Weasel Creek Medium
Roy Rolston 027 476 7188


 
Sat 27th November - Sun 28th November Ellis Hut Easy
Bruce van Brunt 328 4761


 
Sat 4th December - Sun 5th December Ruahine Surprise Medium
Elly Arnst 022 682 3136

This will be either be a walk into Mid-Pohangina or a camping on the tops trip, depending on the forecast. Come and bag your last points for this year's Ruahine Challenge!
 
Sun 5th December Deerford loop Easy
Graeme Richards 020 406 92258

BWD of 4/5 Dec
 
Sat 18th December - Sun 19th December Short-Knights Medium
Warren Wheeler 356 1998

Best weather day trip or camp out overnight on the tops for the sunset and sunrise. Day trip will depart Milverton Park at 7.30am. Overnight trip would start after lunch on Saturday. A must-do pre-Xmas work-out to celebrate the longest day (almost). This western Ruahine loop takes us up Shorts Track and along the tussock tops to Toka high point and then down Knights Track. Great views and lots of alpine plants should be flowering.